Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Murphy Town boy in India squad

Deepak Prakash, a TFA graduate, and a proud Murphy Town boy has been selected in the national squad for the AFC U-22 Championship qualifying round to be played in Muscat from June 23. 

Pune FC striker Jeje Lalpekhlua will lead India with Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, East Bengal goalkeeper being his deputy. The squad has been preparing at the Al Wasl Training Ground, Dubai leaves for Muscat on Thursday, June 21st morning for the championship.

India have been clubbed with hosts Oman, Lebanon, Iraq, UAE, and Turkmenistan. They play Lebanon in their first match on June 23. 

After passing out from TFA in 2010, Deepak played for Mumbai FC. Last season was a homecoming of sorts for the talented Murphy Town boy when he signed for the Aircraftmen. However, he had a barren season for HAL as he was hardly seen playing in I-League. 

He was selected in the U-22 preparatory camp and came back strongly with a consistent performance. Deepak is all set to sign for Pailan Arrows in this season. 

Also, other Bangalore boy Pailan Arrows defender Vishal Ravindra, too, makes to the team.


Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (vice-captain, Kingfisher East Bengal), Ravi Kumar (Pailan Arrows), Soram Poirei Angamba (Shillong Lajong FC)

Defenders: Pritam Kotal, Vishal Kumar, Souvik Ghosh, Prathamesh Maulinkar, Deepak Devrani (all from Pailan Arrows), Narayan Das, (Tata Football Academy),  Abhishek Das (Kingfisher East Bengal)

Midfielders: Pronoy Halder, Ognam Milan Singh, Thirthankar Sarkar, Alwyn George, (all from Pailan Arrows), Simranjit Singh (Tata Football Academy), Ganeshan (Pune FC), Deepak Prakash (HAL), Lalrindika Ralte (Churchill Brothers), Shaiju Mon (Chirag Kerala), Romeo Fernandes (Dempo FC)

Forwards: Holicharan Narzary, (Pailan Arrows), Jeje Lalpekhlua (Captain -- Pune FC), Manandeep Singh (Air India)

Head Coach: Arthur Papas

No comments:

Post a Comment