Tuesday, July 1, 2014

Preparatory camp for Incheon Asian Games begins in Bangalore

AIFF Media 

The Indian Team’s Preparatory Camp for the Incheon Asian Games kicks-off in Bangalore from July 1, Tuesday. The boys who are assembling in Bangalore on the day would commence training under National Coach Wim Koevermans from July 2.

The Camp in Bangalore kicks-off a Preparatory process of two and half months where the squad would also be proceeding to a two-week exposure tour to Europe besides another exposure Tour in the Far East from mid-August.

In addition, there are two matches with Pakistan U-23 Team on August 17, 2014 and 20, 2014 in Bangalore as part of a Friendly Series.

National Coach Wim Koevermans feels he would be able to “work on Teamwork and Football fitness” during the period.

“It’s good to have the boys for two and a half months. We will be able to build on Teamwork and the Football fitness as well,” told Wim. “We will also be able to work on the manner and style we want to play,” he added.

Besides the Friendly Series against Pakistan, the Team would also be playing a number of Friendly matches against Club sides in Europe and even the Far East.

“This Preparatory Camp is no different from the Senior Team’s Preparatory Camp,” Koevermans stated. “All the boys play in the I-League and it’s a nice opportunity for me to learn and understand how they train and perform. At the same time, it’s also an opportunity for them as there is a good pool who could make their way into the Senior National Team,” he maintained.

“Exposure Tours stay pertinent as we build up for big Events. We want to play outside India as we won’t get that good an opposition in India. The boys need to play against different styles, learn about strong opposition and build on from there,” Koevermans opined.

Sunil Chhetri, Robin Singh and Francis Fernandes are the three Senior Players who have been named in the squad. The rest of the squad comprise of U-23 Players.

The 30-member squad for the Camp in Bangalore is as follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Amrinder Singh, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Ravi Kumar, Kamaljit Singh.

DEFENDERS: Pritam Kotal, Keenan Almeida, Deepak Devrani, Joyner Lourenco, Shankar Sampingiraj, Sandesh Jhingan, Sanjay Balmuchu, Salam Singh, Narayan Das, Shouvik Ghosh.

MIDFIELDERS: Pronoy Halder, Rowlin Borges, Clifton Dias, Alwyn George, Siam Hangal, Lalrindika Ralte, Dhanpal Ganesh, Milan Singh.

FORWRADS: Francis Fernandes (Senior Player), Romeo Fernandez, Seiminlen Doungel, Sunil Chhetri (Senior Player), Robin Singh (Senior Player), Haokip Thongkoshim, Alesh Sawant, Mandar Rao Desai.

No comments:

Post a Comment