Friday, September 23, 2016

U-16 Youth League to kick-off from tomorrow

AIFF Media 

55 Teams from all over the country will ply their trade in the U-16 Youth League which is slated to kick-off on Tomorrow, September 24, in Kolkata and Shillong simultaneously. 

Youth Teams from all Hero I-League Clubs and two Teams from Hero ISL Clubs along with many an Academy will be fielding their Teams for the top honours across 10 zones. 

Ozone Football, Roots Football, and Boca Juniors are the teams representing from the Garden City and will be playing in the Bangalore-Chennai zone. 

The League, which commenced last season as the U-15 Youth League, has been refurbished as the U-16 Youth League keeping an eye on the forthcoming FIFA U-17 World Cup India 2017.

Sunando Dhar, CEO, I-League said the increase in the numbers highlights the “urge among the Clubs to perform.”

“The numbers speak. 55 Teams are participating in the U-16 Youth League which is Indeed remarkable. It proves the urge among Clubs and Academies to prove their mettle,” he told

"I wish success to all the participating Teams. The competition will be intense and may the best Team triumph,” he added.

The teams from every zone will play on a home-away basis among themselves in the round robin stage and 16 teams will qualify to the National Final Round eventually. Those sixteen teams will be divided into four groups and the group champions will qualify for the semi-final which will be followed by the final to decide the U-16 Youth League 2016-17 champions.

Royal Wahingdoh FC will face Rangdajied United FC at the Mawlai Ground in the opener (September 24) while Mohammedan Sporting FC will lock their horns with United Sporting Club at the Mohammedan Sporting Ground the same day.

Minerva Academy FC, champions from the last edition have been clubbed with Youngsters Club, Lonestar Kashmir, Real Kashmir and J&K Bank. 

1. Kolkata 
2. Maharashtra 
3. Bangalore-Chennai 
4. Shillong-Guwahati 
5. Kerala
6. Delhi 
7. Rest of India (I) 
8. Rest of India (II)
9. Rest of India (III) 
10. Rest of India (IV)

Mohun Bagan 
East Bengal 
Mohammedan Sporting 
SAI Kolkata
Southern Samity 
United Sports Club
DSK Shivajians 
Mumbai FC 
Young Champs
Steadfast FC 
Football School of India 
FC Pune City 
Ozone Football 
Mahogany FC 
Boca Juniors 
Roots Football 
Shillong Lajong 
SAI Guwahati
Royal Wahingdoh 
Rangdajied United
Gauhati Town Club 
Kovalam FC 
Red Star FC 
Bhaichung Bhutia Football School 
Concient FC 
Sudeva FC
Real Sports
Delhi United
SAI Delhi 
Delhi Dynamos 
Hindustan FC 
Neroca FC 
Aizawl FC 
Tata Football Academy 
SAIL Bokaro 
Sporting Clube de Goa
Salgaocar FC 
Bengaluru FC 
Youngsters Club 
Real Kashmir 
Lonestar Kashmir 
J&K Bank 
Minerva Academy FC 
Kahaani FC 
Anantpur Football 
Fateh Hyderabad 
Pride Sports 
Sports Authority of Gujarat

No comments:

Post a Comment