Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Vignesh to lead state in Santosh Trophy

The selectors finally declared the team for the South Zone qualifying round for 72nd Santosh Trophy, the yearly Senior National football championship. Matches will be held at Bangalore Football Stadium, from January 17 to 22. 

Experienced campaigner Vignesh G will be captaining the team. Vignesh currently plays for Bangalore Super Division team Ozone FCB he will be assisted by Sunil Kumar from Students Union. Also, Vignesh captained last year in Santosh Trophy. Karnataka played their qualifiers at Calicut, Kerala, where the team ended their campaign in a disastrous note. 

Other than the delay in declaring the final squad of 20 players, what is interesting this year’s number of standby players, which is ten in compare to four from last year. 


Shain Khan CP (Bengaluru FC), Abhishek Das (Ozone FC), Sunil Kumar M (Vice Captain)
(Student Union FC), Shafeel PP (B'lore Independents), Anto Rashith (Ozone FC), Leon Augustine (Bengaluru FC), Vignesh G (Captain- Ozone FC), Solaimalai (South United FC), Shamanth (Student Union), Ramesh B (B'lore Eagles), Shahabaaz Khan (Bengaluru FC), Edwin Rosario (B'lore Independent), Liton Shil (MEG), Shashi Kumar V (Students Union FC) Rajesh S (RWF), Keith Raymond Stephen (South United), Azaruddin SK (Bengaluru FC), Amoes (Student Union) Vignesh D (Ozone FCB), Anup Theres Raj (Ozone FC)

Stand Bye
Shreyas (Mysore), John Peter (Bangalore Independent),  Shaik Muzeeb (MEG), Myron Mendes (Bengaluru FC), Sudharshan Lokur (Belgaum District), Franklin Amalraj (Young Challenger), Akshay N (Student Union), Sharath Mohan (Student Union), Abhishek Ramesh (Bangalore Independent) , Satish Kumar (South United) 

Manager M Kumar
Chief Coach - P Muralidharan
Coach - Harish VK
Goal Keeping Coach - SS Shahi
Physiotherapist - Ayethapalli Prasad

No comments:

Post a Comment