Sunday, March 19, 2017

MEG lift Super Division, Independents are A Division champions

Army team MEG and Bangalore Independents lifted BDFA League 2016-17 edition Super Division and A Division respectively. 

After a great start, Students Union could not hold on to the top position, and have to content with runners-up in Super Division. Jawahar Union makes a comeback to Super Division next season by coming second in A division. They will join the Vivek Nagar-based club Bangalore Independents, who topped the league in a convincing fashion. 

DYES and AGORC will be relegated from Super to A Division and Sri Gajanana and Postal will be relegated from A to B Division by finishing at the bottom of points table. 

There was an exhibition match played between the top two teams of both Divisions this evening. In A Division, Bangalore Independents lost to Jawahar Union 0-1 from a 14th minute goal from Jonathan. MEG defeated Student Union 2-0 in Super Division, Faizal and captain Ramu were the scorers. 

Several individual awards were given to the players. 

Super Division

  • Best goalkeeper - Nardesh (Student Union)
  • Best goal of the league - Nanda (Student Union)
  • Best playmaker – Sukesh Leon (MEG) 
  • Top Scorers - 8 goals Dada Nabeel (AGORC), Emmanuel (Student Union), Jotin Singh (ASC) and Subash (South United) scoring 7 goals, followed by Neeraj Singh (ASC) scoring 6 goals
A Division
  • Best goalkeeper – Kevin (Jawhar Union)
  • Best goal of the league – Damodran (Bangalore Eagles)
  • Best playmaker – Karthick (Bangalore Independents)
  • Top Scorer - Nihal  (Jawhar Union) – 12 goals, followed by Dipan Thapa (SAI - 7 goals), Thongmang (Parikrma - 6 goals)

No comments:

Post a Comment