Friday, April 21, 2017

Rudra to captain Karnataka in Junior National BC Roy Trophy

Karnataka will play the Junior National (U-19) Dr. BC Roy Trophy at Cuttack. Grouped in Tier II along with Gujarat, Manipur, Chandigarh, the boys will start their campaign on Tuesday, April 25. 


Rudra Ved Moola (Captain), Arvind Babu G (Vice Captian), Bill Clinton, Arun H, Nidhish R, Pavan S, Surya V, Suraj Kumar.R, Surya S, Shiva Kumar.N, Rupesh Kumar KR, Arun Kumar D, Sudeer Kotikela, Mohith Mangaladevi, Krishana Kanth Pratap, Gokul Krishna C, Jones M, Tharun S, Tanith P, Balakrishna Gowda SM  
Coach - C Ravi Kumar, Manager -Vijaya Suvarna, Asst.Manager - MG Chandra Shekar

Tier II Karnataka fixtures: 

  • April 25: Karnataka Vs Manipur
  • April 27: Karnataka Vs Chandigarh
  • April 29: Karnataka Vs Gujarat

Bengaluru look to keep momentum going against DSK

AIFF Media 
Bengaluru FC Media 

The business end of the Hero I-League at the Garden City will witness the winner of the previous edition, Bengaluru FC hosting DSK Shivajians tomorrow at the Sree Kanterava Stadium, Bengaluru. 

While the primary focus will be on the hills at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Aizawl where the front-runners of Hero I-League, Aizwal FC and Mohun Bagan will be battling it out, and probably winner of the Hero I-League title will be decided, the significance of the Bengaluru versus DSK match would be to maintain the winning form - both teams won their respective last round I-League matches.  

After winning two I-League tiles and finishing another one by a whisker, this edition of I-League must have been a disappointing one for the Steelmen. Out of League contention, they are making amends of their poor start in the League. With a couple good wins in the previous two rounds of I-League complemented by top performance in AFC Cup Group league stage, they stand a bright chance of finishing among top three in the I-League. 

The Pune-based corporate team Shivajians increased East Bengal’s woes by defeating them at their home on last Sunday. Arguably, a top performance, considering they’ve won only three matches playing 15 games prior to that. With three teams in 17 points, they would definitely like garner away points and take the sixth spot in the points table. 

DSK’s Keeper and Indian national player Subrata Paul was brilliant under the bar as he thwarted several of East Bangal attacks. A form that he would like to carry tomorrow. 

The match is scheduled at 7:05 pm and will be telecast live on Ten2 television channel.

Friday, March 31, 2017

Bengaluru resume league battle with Mohun Bagan showdown in Kolkata

Bengaluru FC Media

In a fixture that’s never lacked intensity, Bengaluru FC will square off against Mohun Bagan for a third straight time as the I-League resumes after a fortnight-long international break, at the Rabindra Sarobar Stadium, in Kolkata, on Saturday.

While the Blues’ chances of retaining the League title are all but over, coach Albert Roca believes that the need to put in a good show ahead of an important AFC Cup tie against Maziya S&RC away from home in just three days from now and the prospect of coming up against Bengaluru’s arch rivals on the domestic stage should work as enough motivation for his boys to deliver.

“We are up against Mohun Bagan and that should tell you how important this game is for us. Also, while we may not be able to finish on top of the table, we need to climb as high as possible, on it. It’s going to be a very difficult game because Bagan know that if they drop points, their title aspirations will suffer a major dent too.”

Prior to the international break, Bengaluru faced the Sanjoy Sen-coached side on consecutive occasions, as a goalless draw in the League was followed by a comeback win for the Blues in the opening game of the 2017 AFC Cup. The Spaniard has called for his side, who are in fifth place, to be competitive if they are to take anything away from Kolkata this time around.

“We are the champions of India and we will be playing like that on Saturday. There is no point coming here if we aren’t going be competitive,” said Roca, while addressing the press on the eve of the game.

Bengaluru had as many as seven players away with the national team for the AFC Asian Cup qualifier against Myanmar and Roca said he still hasn’t decided the team that he will roll out against Bagan a side that sits in third place on the League table. “We play two important games in four days and I’m going to have to see how we handle this situation. What you can expect for certain is that the team that plays will be one that chases a win.”

Defender Rino Anto and goalkeeper Lalthuammawia Ralte miss out as they continue to recover from their injuries while Mohun Bagan are boosted by the presence of Sony Norde, who trained with the side following his return from international duty with Haiti at the CONCACAF Gold Cup qualifiers.

Sunday, March 26, 2017

Pondey to captain BDFA in All India 'Bihar Cup' Tournament

Arun Pondey of Ozone will captain the BDFA XI in the All India 'Bihar Cup' Football Tournament, to be held at Patna. 

BDFA have won the tournament in 2014. 

Team is leaving for Patna by train on Monday, March 27, 9 am. 


Nadirsha K (Students Union), Srijith R (South United), Sasikumar (Students Union), Kevin HX (Students Union), Vivekananda (Ozone), Shiva Kumar (Students Union), Anup Theresraj (Ozone), Vignesh D (Ozone), Praveen KT (Students Union), Manivannan (South United), Santhos AnnaMalai K (South United), Arun Pondey (Captain-Ozone), Karthick G (Ozone), Sukesh Leon (MEG), Thamodharan (Bangalore Eagles), Nanda V (Students Union), Satish Kumar (South United), Mahesh S (South United), Anto Rusith (South United), Kumar AD (Income Tax) 
Mohan – Coach 
G Appaji – Manager 

Sunday, March 19, 2017

MEG lift Super Division, Independents are A Division champions

Army team MEG and Bangalore Independents lifted BDFA League 2016-17 edition Super Division and A Division respectively. 

After a great start, Students Union could not hold on to the top position, and have to content with runners-up in Super Division. Jawahar Union makes a comeback to Super Division next season by coming second in A division. They will join the Vivek Nagar-based club Bangalore Independents, who topped the league in a convincing fashion. 

DYES and AGORC will be relegated from Super to A Division and Sri Gajanana and Postal will be relegated from A to B Division by finishing at the bottom of points table. 

There was an exhibition match played between the top two teams of both Divisions this evening. In A Division, Bangalore Independents lost to Jawahar Union 0-1 from a 14th minute goal from Jonathan. MEG defeated Student Union 2-0 in Super Division, Faizal and captain Ramu were the scorers. 

Several individual awards were given to the players. 

Super Division

  • Best goalkeeper - Nardesh (Student Union)
  • Best goal of the league - Nanda (Student Union)
  • Best playmaker – Sukesh Leon (MEG) 
  • Top Scorers - 8 goals Dada Nabeel (AGORC), Emmanuel (Student Union), Jotin Singh (ASC) and Subash (South United) scoring 7 goals, followed by Neeraj Singh (ASC) scoring 6 goals
A Division
  • Best goalkeeper – Kevin (Jawhar Union)
  • Best goal of the league – Damodran (Bangalore Eagles)
  • Best playmaker – Karthick (Bangalore Independents)
  • Top Scorer - Nihal  (Jawhar Union) – 12 goals, followed by Dipan Thapa (SAI - 7 goals), Thongmang (Parikrma - 6 goals)